What is the NEBOSH General Certificate?

The NEBOSH General Certificate is the most widely recognised and trusted health and safety UK qualification, providing line managers and staff with a sound understanding of the principles of risk management.

Who is this course suitable for?

This course is for managers, supervisors and operational staff who need a broad knowledge of health and safety issues and want to obtain a globally respected qualification. It is also for those wanting to make a career change into health and safety, or enhance their long-term career prospects.

It is widely respected by employers and meets the requirements of Technician Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH).

    Many people take this qualification as a first step into a career in health and safety as it provides a valuable overview.

    What is the structure of the course?

    The NEBOSH General Certificate syllabus is divided into 2 units and covers 11 elements:

    NG1: Management of Health and Safety

    1. Why we should manage workplace health and safety
    2. How health and safety management systems work and what they look like
    3. Managing risk - understanding people and processes
    4. Health and safety monitoring and measuring

      The unit is assessed by an open book typed or written examination completed at home within a 24-hour time-frame.

      NG2: Risk Assessment

      5. Physical and psychological health
      6. Musculoskeletal health
      7. Chemical and biological agents
      8. General workplace issues
      9. Work equipment
      10. Fire
      11. Electricity

      The unit is assessed by a three-hour practical assessment completed in your own workplace (or another suitable workplace). Candidates must pass all specified criteria for this unit.

      How can I take this qualification?

      There are a number of ways you can complete this qualification:

      • Online Training - our NEBOSH Certificate Online course is a flexible, high-quality learning method. For more information about our online course click here.
      • Face-to-face training – Safetyboss can run the NEBOSH Certificate by client arrangement in-house or at our training premises in Suffolk.