Classes of Fire

Classes of fire

Fires are classified by the materials (or fuel) that they burn.

There are five formal classifications of fire and one unofficial classification:

Class A
Class A Fire
Fires which burn flammable solids such as paper, wood and plastic.

Class B
Class B Fire
Fires which burn flammable liquids such as paint, petrol and oil.
Class C
Class C Fire
Fires which burn gases such as hydrogen, propane and butane.
Class D
Class D Fire
Fires which burn metals such as potassium, aluminium and magnesium.

Electrical Fires
Electrical Fire
Fires which involve electrical equipment. This type of fire does not have its own class as fires involving electrical equipment can fall into any other classes.
Class F
Class F Fire
Fires which involve cooking oils and fats, including chip pan fires.


    Extinguishing fires

    The correct fire extinguisher or fire extinguishing method must be used on each class of fire. If the wrong type of extinguisher is used you may intensify the fire or make the situation more dangerous.

    Take a look at the table below to see which extinguisher to use on each class of fire.


    classes of fire table

    If you need more information on fire safety, our Fire Awareness Online course covers fire extinguishers in more detail, your legal responsibilities and more.

    Click here for more information and to purchase today. Discounts are available for multiple users.